

Press Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE November 18, 2011

CONTACT:

Scott Crichton, ACLU of Montana Executive Director (406) 670-7872, scottc@aclumontana.org

Helena Attorney Ron Waterman Wins Rankin Award

Waterman's work for criminal justice reform and to end the death penalty exemplifies spirit of Montana legislator and ACLU co-founder Jeannette Rankin

HELENA, MT – The American Civil Liberties Union of Montana will present Helena attorney Ron Waterman its Jeannette Rankin Civil Liberties Award this Saturday in honor of his work to reform the criminal justice system and end the state death penalty.

Ron is an outspoken opponent of the death penalty. As an ACLU cooperating attorney he is engaged in challenging the state's lethal injection protocol and has provided superb testimony before the Montana House and Senate judiciary committees on how the state's apparatus for state sanctioned murder is fatally flawed beyond repair.

Ron led the legal team challenging Montana's inadequate delivery of legal services for indigent defendants (*White v. Martz*) and lobbied for legislation to create the Office of Public Defender. Ron also represented Jimmy Ray Bromgard, a Billings man wrongfully convicted of raping a girl, who served 15 years in prison before genetic evidence exonerated him.

The award is named for Jeannette Rankin (R-Mont.), the first woman to be elected to the U.S. Congress and the first vice-president of the ACLU when it was founded in 1920. The ACLU of Montana presents awards in Rankin's name to those who best model her devotion to civil liberties and her spirited defense of Constitutional rights.

The event is from 5-7 p.m. Saturday at the home of Alan and Nancy Nicholson. RSVP to 443-8590.

Previous recipients of the Jeannette Rankin Civil Liberties Award:

1991 Hon. John C. "Skeff" Sheehy

1992 Francis Bardanouve, Montana Library Association

1993 Janine Pease Pretty On Top, Pat Williams

1994 Pat Regan, Chet Blaylock, Cathy Carlson

1995 Steve Powell, Diane Benjamin, Dr. Jim Armstrong

1996 Vivian Brooke, Clyde Jarvis

1997 Neil Haight, Gordon Bennett

1998 Earl Old Person

1999 Linda Gryczan, Bob Campbell

2000 Dorothy Eck, Sue Bartlett, The Montana

Freedom Of Information Hotline and John Kuglin

2001 Eve Malo, Claire Sinclair, The Montana Youth Leadership Forum and June Hermanson

2002 Carral Williams - Dalla Halasaa

2002 Carol Williams, Polly Holmes

2003 Joe Mcdowell

2004-05 No Awards Were Presented

2006 Ken Freemont Smith, Charles Caughlan, Vern

Klingman, Marvin Granger

2007 Jeff Renz, Clem Work

2008 Rosemary Boschert, Tom Towe, Elsie Fox

2009 Justice William Hunt, Marietta Jaeger Lane

2010 Stacy Rye, Dave Strohmaier, National Coalition

Building Institute - Missoula